Fuck Patriarchy!

Gravüre von Geertruyd Roghman, ca 1652, Rijksprentenkabinet, Amsterdam Gravüre von Geertruyd Roghman, ca 1652, Rijksprentenkabinet, Amsterdam Querdurchschnitt vom Haus Rekonstruktion des Hauses von der Maler Johannes Vermeer Small Scale Model of a Home (Vermeer Studio and Kitchen), Installationsansicht Small Scale Model of a Home, Installationsansicht Small Scale Model of a Home, Installationsansicht A Woman Asleep, painting by Johannes Vermeer, 1657 Small Scale Model of a Home (Vermeer Studio), interior view Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 1 Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 1 Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 1 Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 1 Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 1 Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 2 Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 2 Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 2 Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 2

Diese Videoinstallation ist situiert in den Niederlanden des 17. Jahrhunderts und verbindet zwei verschiedene Themen: häusliche Gewalt und die Entwicklung der Mittelschicht in diesem „Goldenen Zeitalter“.

Für dieses Projekt würde Mathilde ter Heijne von Kupferstichen der heute weitgehend vergessenen niederländischen Künstlerin Geertruyd Roghman (1602-1657) und Gemälden ihres Zeitgenossen Jan Vermeer (1632-1675) inspiriert. Beide Künstlerinnen zeigen in ihren Werken handwerklich arbeitende Frauen, stellen aber dennoch zwei gegensätzliche Lebensrealitäten dar: Roghmann zeigt Frauen die für ihren Lebensunterhalt arbeiten, während sich die Frauen bei Vermeer dem Kunsthandwerk als typisch weibliche „Freizeitbeschäftigung“ widmen. Es ist sehr wahrscheinlich, dass die Gemälde von Vermeer eine erfundene oder idealisierte Realität zeigen.

Rekonstruktionen der Innenräume des Hauses Vermeer sind heutzutage online verfügbar und wurden von dem Kunsthandwerker Daah Hensens zur Anfertigung eines kleinmaßstäblichen Modells von zwei der Räume aus dem Haus verwendet. In diesen beiden Räumen (dem Atelier und der Küche) würde das Video gedreht. Das Videomaterial wird von Dialogen von dem Büro Impro für improvisierten, interaktiven Theaters begleitet: Eine Theaterform, die auf dem „Theater der Unterdrückten“ basiert, das von Augusto Boal in den 1950er und 60er Jahren entwickelt wurde und impliziert, dass die Benachteiligten ihre Situation durch Proben auf der Bühne verändern können.

Die Republik der Vereinigten Niederlande wurde immer als die Bastion der Bourgeoisie betrachtet. In keinem anderen europäischen Land haben im 17. Jahrhundert Kaufleute und Regenten aus bürgerlichen Verhältnissen so viel Reichtum, politischen und sozialen Status erlangt. Ausgeschlossen vom Erwerb von Reichtum oder Status waren in dieser Zeit viele Frauen, die eine schwache soziale Stellung hatten und nicht als vollwertige Personen galten. Männer waren für die Frauen verantwortlich, Frauen waren von ihnen abhängig, und das Gesetz erlaubte es Männern, Frauen gewaltsam zu „korrigieren“. Die Niederlande des 17. Jahrhunderts waren sicherlich nicht „das goldene Zeitalter“ für Frauen. Im Gegenteil, es war der Beginn einer neuen, streng patriarchalischen Gesellschaft, in der wir noch heute leben.


Dieses Projekt wurde gezeigt in

Any Day Now, Kunsthalle Nürnberg, 2010
Fuck Patiarchy!, Viafarini, Mailand, 2004
Kunstverein, Hannover, 2004

Fuck Patriarchy!

Etching of Geertruyd Roghman, ca 1652, Rijksprentenkabinet, Amsterdam Etching of Geertruyd Roghman, ca 1652, Rijksprentenkabinet, Amsterdam Reconstruction of the house of Johannes Vermeer cross box cut of the house Johannes Vermeer Small Scale Model of a Home (Vermeer Studio), installation view Small Scale Model of a Home (Vermeer Studio), installation view Fuck Patriarchy!, production shot Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 2 Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 2 Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 2 Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 2 Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 1 Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 1 Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 1 Fuck Patriarchy!, production shot Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 1 Fuck Patriarchy!, video still, screen 1

This video installation is situated in the Netherlands of the 17th century and connects two different subjects: domestic violence nowadays and the development of the middle-class in this “Golden Age.”

For this project, Mathilde ter Heijne starts out from copper engravings by the now largely forgotten female Dutch artist Geertruyd Roghman (1602–1657) and paintings by her contemporary Jan Vermeer (1632–1675). Both artists show women practicing handicrafts in their works, but still present two contrasting realities of life: Roghman shows women who are compelled to work for their living, while in Vermeer’s work the women devote themselves to craftwork as a typical feminine “leisure activity.” It’s very likely that the paintings by Vermeer show an invented or idealized reality.

Reconstructions of the interior of the house of Vermeer are available online and were used by the craftsman Daah Hensens to make a small-scale model of two of its rooms. In those two rooms (the studio and the kitchen) the video is shot. The video material is accompanied by dialogues of improvised interactive theater: A form of theater based on the “Theater of the Oppressed,” developed by Augusto Boal in the 1950s and 60s, implying that the disadvantaged would be able to change their situation by rehearsing on stage.

The Republic of the United Netherlands has always been considered as the bastion of the bourgeoisie. In no other European country in the 17th century did merchants and regents from bourgeois backgrounds acquire so much wealth, political and social status. Excluded from gaining wealth or status in this time were women, who had a weak social position and were not considered full persons. Men were responsible for the women, women were dependent on them, and the law allowed men to “correct” women violently. The 17th century Netherlands certainly was not “the golden age” for women. On the contrary, it was the beginning of a new severely patriarchal society in which we still live today.

This project has been shown at
Any Day Now, Kunsthalle Nürnberg, 2010
Fuck Patriarchy!, Viafarini, Milano, 2004
Kunstverein, Hannover, 2004